Initial Impressions & Feedback

Suggestion and feedback

Initial Impressions & Feedback

Postby rmike » Sun Mar 29, 2015 1:30 pm

Played around a little bit with the app. Initial Impressions - Seriously Awesome!!!

IMO this app is one of the most interesting developments that I've come across in recent times!!! Has the potential to evolve into an end-to-end turnkey solution for traders in the Indian context, if all goes according to as envisaged/ attempted by the developer. And am sure, that with Joy behind the driving controls, it will do so.

That having been said, there is likely to be an associated steep learning curve to be negotiated, as well as fill in the blanks with various li'll bits n pieces of improvements. Am aware that this is merely v.1 and is kind of a prelude to (better) things yet to be unveiled, still some constructive critique to enable future development,

1. Charting is fairly rudimentary - Has no zoom in-out function. In live trading it is helpful to see where the price has historically been by zooming out to a birds' eye view prior to zooming in for the micro finesse. Indicator library is (presently) woefully sparse. Indicator does not track-in with the chart while scrolling vertically. Multi-timeframe overlays are either not yet implemented or are not intuitively configurable. The choice of implementation of regional fonts and symbols (in addition to a standard line for indicators) is a nice touch.

2. Databases - As the help instructions are more adequately populated by and by, this will become clearer, but as of now the ability to import ticker symbols needs to be instructed as well as the process for importing the databases (separately for intraday as well as EOD) exported by other widely used TA platforms viz. ami, ninja, mt4, metastock etc needs to be explained/ implemented.

3. Help Instructions/ Flash videos - Need of the hour!!! The more, the merrier AND the faster, the better!!!

Note: Would be amenable to pitching in for helping out with the same, if required.

The exploration of features pertaining to order execution and management has been put on hold till live market activity, and the leisure to test the same, permits. However did note the OCO feature!!! This is an auspicious start!!! Have been pointing this out for quite a while to developers in the hope that they might listen :) - Notwithstanding the non implementation of these commonly used conditional orders (OCO, OCA, OSO etc) by the exchanges in India (as yet), it is entirely possible to implement these orders by an appropriately driven middleman workstation!!! Am happy to see that at least one developer sees the solution on the same lines as moi!!!

Its nice to see an Indian version akin to the IB TWS being developed, this augurs good tidings for traders in future!!!

Despite the development being in the early stages, comparisons to widely used industry leader TA platforms are inevitable. This is not necessarily a bad thing. For one, it gives an already established & expected benchmark to aim for. For the other, the implementation of similar features will enable smoother user ease of transference and enable shortening of the (steep) learning curve.

Kudos n Regards,

P.S - @ Joy - Would like to see the Data Manager module and the Order Management module as standalone add-ins capable of linking with other TA platforms for data feed plus order execution & management (my personal bias is for ami :) ) in the interim, while ArthaChitra is on the march to attain its full potential. This will also address a wider base of users to attain familiarity and comfort level with the platform and its features.
rmike
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 2:20 am

Re: Initial Impressions & Feedback

Postby Admin » Sun Mar 29, 2015 7:39 pm

Hello rmike,
Thanks for your kind words and your encouragement.

You can increase/decrease the bar width and bar space. this will emulate zooming.

CTRL + Up Arrow = Increase bar width
CTRL + Down Arrow = Decrease bar width
ALT + Up Arrow = Increase bar space
ALT + Down Arrow = Decrease bar space


And let me add, you can code custom ChartStyle in ArthaChitra. Please look into the folders:
~Documents\ArthaChitra 1\SharpScript\ChartStyle
and
~Documents\ArthaChitra 1\Xaml Resource\ChartStyle
for the corrosponding Xaml file.


I will add more indicators, however the basic idea is to present a robust platform, where users chip in and create and share their indicators.

Please make sure "Is Overlay" is not checked in the indicator settings. this will make sure the indicators are in sync when scrolling.

Please refer to these posts which further illustrates on how to create/import instruments
http://www.arthachitra.com/support/foru ... p?f=22&t=8
http://www.arthachitra.com/support/foru ... p?f=22&t=7

Yes, I agree. Will be creating instructional videos/manuals in the coming days.

Live order entry is not enabled/coded as of now. It will have to wait for next version. You can however submit simulated trades as of now.

Thanks again for your support.
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 7:53 pm

Re: Initial Impressions & Feedback

Postby extremist » Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:08 am

Wow....!
You pulled the miracle....
i'm sure yet to get full shape.
But till now......Awesome.....
your concepts and your idea ......Hat's of to those......

I hope u will add more informative videos.

i installed it and connected it to my zerodha A/c. it got connected . thanx to your video.
but wht next....
'm unable to go ahead.

So i pulled data from google to see wht in stores. it is great.

"m good at Amibroker AFL coding.
I need to learn C# now :(
but i will if i find good help.

Million thanks to u and your team if it is there....?
you made indian trader community proud.
extremist
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 7:05 am

Re: Initial Impressions & Feedback

Postby Admin » Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:23 am

extremist wrote:Wow....!
You pulled the miracle....
i'm sure yet to get full shape.
But till now......Awesome.....
your concepts and your idea ......Hat's of to those......

I hope u will add more informative videos.

i installed it and connected it to my zerodha A/c. it got connected . thanx to your video.
but wht next....
'm unable to go ahead.

So i pulled data from google to see wht in stores. it is great.

"m good at Amibroker AFL coding.
I need to learn C# now :(
but i will if i find good help.

Million thanks to u and your team if it is there....?
you made indian trader community proud.


extremist,
NOW/Nest Trader supports Real Time (RT) data only. In market hours you should get RT quotes.

Live trading is stated to implemented in future versions.
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 7:53 pm

Re: Initial Impressions & Feedback

Postby pannet1 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 1:11 pm

Hello Arthachitra,

This is fantastic work by you. Thank you so much for bringing this to Indian trader community.

I am about to test the (Zerodha) NEST connection with Arthachithra. I am aware of the recent development w.r.t Kite, but i am not interested in getting delayed ticks.

Wanted to know if there is way to get account functions with Nest like Account Balance, Equity Balance. I also want to know if its possible to draw horizontal line on the chart on Price Axis and a label for it on Time axis. Looking to program a Take Profit Level of all open orders for an instrument if price is above (or below) the breakeven line. Intend to draw the breakeven line based on the target % specified (on Account Balance) specified by the user.

Please advise the possiblities.
pannet1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:27 pm

Re: Initial Impressions & Feedback

Postby Admin » Sun Nov 11, 2018 11:25 am

pannet1 wrote:Hello Arthachitra,

This is fantastic work by you. Thank you so much for bringing this to Indian trader community.

I am about to test the (Zerodha) NEST connection with Arthachithra. I am aware of the recent development w.r.t Kite, but i am not interested in getting delayed ticks.

Wanted to know if there is way to get account functions with Nest like Account Balance, Equity Balance. I also want to know if its possible to draw horizontal line on the chart on Price Axis and a label for it on Time axis. Looking to program a Take Profit Level of all open orders for an instrument if price is above (or below) the breakeven line. Intend to draw the breakeven line based on the target % specified (on Account Balance) specified by the user.

Please advise the possiblities.


Hi,
Thanks for your kind words.

The Nest API only provides data and order submission is no longer possible with it as Omnesys/TR has depreciated the functionality. The Nest API is open source and feel free to modify it to meet your custom requirement.
http://www.arthachitra.com/support/ac1/ ... e5b51d.htm


We do provide both a Horizontal Line and Vertical Line drawing object. Further since the drawing object is exposed you can code your custom Drawing Objects.
http://www.arthachitra.com/support/ac1/ ... d44a11.htm

A Strategy is linked with a particular instrument (or instruments in case of multi-instrument strategy) and the strategy position is different from the actual "Account Position". A Strategy can close a position initiated by it and not the account position.

The Strategy does exposes the Account property and if the connection provides the information you can fetch the informations from the AccountSummery object. For more details please refer here
http://www.arthachitra.com/support/ac1/ ... ccount.htm
http://www.arthachitra.com/support/ac1/ ... ummery.htm
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 7:53 pm

Re: Initial Impressions & Feedback

Postby pannet1 » Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:07 pm

Thanks for your reply.

Admin wrote:The Nest API only provides data and order submission is no longer possible with it as Omnesys/TR has depreciated the functionality. The Nest API is open source and feel free to modify it to meet your custom requirement.
http://www.arthachitra.com/support/ac1/ ... e5b51d.htm


I am confused. Does it mean that we will be no longer able to send orders to Nest (with or without the API) through Arthachitra ? If its possible even now, do you have any code example for that ?
Admin wrote:We do provide both a Horizontal Line and Vertical Line drawing object. Further since the drawing object is exposed you can code your custom Drawing Objects.
http://www.arthachitra.com/support/ac1/ ... d44a11.htm

Cool. This means its possible.

Admin wrote:A Strategy is linked with a particular instrument (or instruments in case of multi-instrument strategy) and the strategy position is different from the actual "Account Position". A Strategy can close a position initiated by it and not the account position.

The Strategy does exposes the Account property and if the connection provides the information you can fetch the informations from the AccountSummery object. For more details please refer here
http://www.arthachitra.com/support/ac1/ ... ccount.htm
http://www.arthachitra.com/support/ac1/ ... ummery.htm


I got it. Basically, I am looking at a semi automatic, Order Manager that look for Ask/Bid exceeding the Take Profit levels, so it will close all open orders for the instrument we are looking at. Unless Arthachitra is able to get the open orders and their current profit levels, it will not be able to tell the Take Profit Level and in turn close the orders. This may not really the problem of Arthachitra, because NEST (in this example) is not communicating the open orders (positions). there will be no way for it know.

Am I right? If yes, what is your other suggested connection to achieve this
pannet1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:27 pm

Re: Initial Impressions & Feedback

Postby Admin » Sun Nov 11, 2018 10:26 pm

pannet1 wrote:I am confused. Does it mean that we will be no longer able to send orders to Nest (with or without the API) through Arthachitra ? If its possible even now, do you have any code example for that ?


The Nest Plus API has been depreciated by Omnesys/TR. Thus it cannot be used to place order via ArthaChitra or by any other app.

For order execution we currently support Interactive Brokers.

pannet1 wrote:I got it. Basically, I am looking at a semi automatic, Order Manager that look for Ask/Bid exceeding the Take Profit levels, so it will close all open orders for the instrument we are looking at. Unless Arthachitra is able to get the open orders and their current profit levels, it will not be able to tell the Take Profit Level and in turn close the orders. This may not really the problem of Arthachitra, because NEST (in this example) is not communicating the open orders (positions). there will be no way for it know.

Am I right? If yes, what is your other suggested connection to achieve this


You will get all access to the order(s) (from the strategy) as long as the order(s) has been submitted by the strategy. This is true for Interactive Brokers as of now.

Orders submitted by the strategy can be modified manually (from the chart/dom etc). So semi-automatic strategies can be built.
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 7:53 pm

Re: Initial Impressions & Feedback

Postby pannet1 » Sun Nov 11, 2018 10:59 pm

Admin wrote:You will get all access to the order(s) (from the strategy) as long as the order(s) has been submitted by the strategy. This is true for Interactive Brokers as of now.
Orders submitted by the strategy can be modified manually (from the chart/dom etc). So semi-automatic strategies can be built.


seems Interactive Brokers don't support MCX right now and that's a big let down. i will continue to dream one day i will be able to trade on Arthachitra. :(

Note: i wanted to message you but please refer the discussion https://www.traderji.com/community/threads/fyers.105097/page-346#post-1321689 seems broker is of opinion that they have to provide support for the software the recommend anyway. if you are of a different opinion, please contact them and see if there could be a mutually beneficial relationship between you two, if possible.
pannet1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:27 pm

Re: Initial Impressions & Feedback

Postby Admin » Mon Nov 12, 2018 9:03 am

pannet1 wrote:seems Interactive Brokers don't support MCX right now and that's a big let down. i will continue to dream one day i will be able to trade on Arthachitra. :(

Note: i wanted to message you but please refer the discussion https://www.traderji.com/community/threads/fyers.105097/page-346#post-1321689 seems broker is of opinion that they have to provide support for the software the recommend anyway. if you are of a different opinion, please contact them and see if there could be a mutually beneficial relationship between you two, if possible.


Correct, IB supports NSE (including currency futures) only.

Thanks. We do have plans to integrate with various brokers in times to come.
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 7:53 pm


Return to Suggestion and feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron